Chapter 1. Melancholic

 

 

I sat next to the window, my cheeks mimicking the window glass as my tears flowed, just like the raindrops dripped slowly down the window. I glanced at the watch across the room. It was time. Sniffling, I picked up my backpack and got ready to leave for the airport.

 

I typed a quick text message to my girlfriend.

“I’m so sorry I have to do this to you and the others but I cannot see another way out. Inform the others of my decision. I love you, baby, always have, always will. Take care. Please don’t come in search of me, I don’t want to be found.

Forever and always.”

 

As soon the message was sent, I looked out of the cab window. The Thames was flowing, we were on a bridge. In the spur of the moment, I lowered the window and flung my phone into the river.

 

A smile crossed my lips as I saw it form an arc and dip down below my line of vision.

I was free at last.

 

 


This is the first chapter of the new novel I’m writing. Please feel free to leave your thoughts, ideas and predictions below.

Leave a comment